Secret Assault

6 x 9, 272 pages, pb, ISBN 9781882658053

$19.95

By Don Helin

WINNER Indie Book Award--Best Suspense/Thriller
San Francisco Book Festival Honorable Mention--Best General Fiction


The June evening had been perfect—the speeches are over, the last dance is underway, and the president's national security advisor, General Aaron Hightower, is leaving his retirement party when he is gunned down by a Vietnamese assassin.

Colonel Zack Kelly spots the killer and gives chase, but the shooter is hit by a truck and killed. Zack and his partner, Lieutenant Colonel Rene Garcia, determine that Hightower is the sixth army leader attacked in the past four months.

They investigate the chilling possibility the shootings are part of a plot against the government. Is a serial killer on the loose? Are other lives at stake? Cabinet members? Is the president himself at risk?

Things are not as they seem, however. After two more military retirees are murdered, Zack's world is rocked by an event so traumatic, the hunt for the killers turns deadly personal.

What People Say

"Rock-em-sock-em, ball of fire, roller-coaster, take your pick: Don Helin covers them all in this terrific book. Do yourself a favor and get one . . . and be prepared to stay awake far, far into the night."

--Bestselling author Shane Gericke, TORN APART


“SECRET ASSAULT is a turbo-charged political thriller packed with nail-biting tension, breathless action and devious plot twists. Highly recommended!”

–Jonathan Maberry, New York Times bestselling author of CODE ZERO and FALL OF NIGHT

“Fans of Tom Clancy and Vince Flynn will instantly sign up for this no-holds-barred, front-and-center thriller--written with the tough confidence, and been-there-done-that access of a savvy author who clearly knows his military stuff.”

– Hank Phillippi Ryan-- Agatha, Anthony, Macavity and Mary Higgins Clark award winning author

"Don Helin's latest is a terrific, prescient tale in which the ghosts of the past and the present converge in an all-too plausible conspiracy aimed at the highest corridors of power. Rich in the traditions of W.E.B. Griffin, Nelson DeMille and Tom Clancy, this is the best military thriller you will read this, or maybe any, year."

--Jon Land, award winning, bestselling author of STRONG RAIN FALLING.



About the Author

Using his experience from the military, including eight years in the Pentagon, Don Helin's first thriller, Thy Kingdom Come, was released in 2009. His second, Devil's Den, was named as a Finalist in the Indie Book Awards. Don is an active member of International Thriller Writers, Mystery Writers of America, Military Writers Society of America, and Pennwriters, a statewide writers group in Pennsylvania. He makes his home in central Pennsylvania. Contact him at www.DonHelin.com.
 
 
© 2017 Headline Books